Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha

Biographical Sketch of Member of XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name :Late Shri Jamaluddin Mohammed Sahib Date of Birth: 15 August 1930 Place of Birth: Jangoan in Distt. Warangal (Andhra Pradesh) Marital Status: Married on 20 May 1948 Spouse's Name:Smt. Rahimunnisa Begum Children: Two sons and four daughters Educational Qualifications :
B.Com., LL.B. Educated at Osmania University, Hyderabad(Andhra Pradesh) Profession :
Lawyer and Agriculturist Permanent Address :
172, Suryanagar Colony, Toli Chowki, Hyderabad-500001 (Andhra Pradesh) Tels. (040) 3514727, 3514898 Positions Held :
1962-72Member, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly 1968 onwardsMember, A.I.C.C. 1969-71Member, Committee on Government Assurances, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly 1978-80Vice-President, P.C.C. (I), Andhra Pradesh 1980Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) 1980-81Member, Committee on Government Assurances 1982-84Member, Committee on Public Undertakings 1989Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) 1990-91Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Petroleum and Chemicals 1991Elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) for the third time June 1991-Sep. 1994Union Minister of State, Civil Supplies and Public Distribution and Minister of State, Commerce 1994-95President, P.C.C., Andhra Pradesh 1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the fourth time Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments :
Articles published in newspapers Special Interests :
Studies on socio-economic conditions of the developing countries Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
  Reading and travelling

Sports and Clubs :
Snooker; Member (i) Nizam Club, Hyderabad; (ii) Gymkhana Club, Delhi; and (iii) India International Centre, New Delhi Countries Visited :
Widely travelled Other Information :
Chairman (i) Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation, 1971; and (ii) NAFED, Delhi, 1985-89; Member, Haj Committee, 4 January 1990 onwards Election Result :
Hanamkonda Lok Sabha constituency Total electorate11,13,889 Total votes polled5,84,307 Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates : (1)Shri Kamaluddin Ahmed (I.N.C.)2,18,256 (2)Shri Baswa Reddy Adaboina (T.D.P.)1,42,686 (3)Shri Chada Suresh Reddy[N.T.R.T.D.P. (LP)]1,30,550 (4)Shri Jayapal Vonteru (B.J.P.)36,415