Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name: Shri H.N. Narayana Sastry Date of Birth: 22 July 1959 Place of Birth: Bangalore (Karnataka) Marital Status: Married on 15 February 1989 Spouse's Name: Smt. Tejaswini A. Children: Two daughters Educational Qualifications :
B.A., LL.B. Educated at K.S. Arts College, and J.S.S. Law College, Karnataka University, Hubli (Karnataka) Profession :
Political and Social Worker, Trader and Industrialist Permanent Address :
16, Sati, 3rd Main Vyalikaval, Bangalore-560003 (Karnataka) Tel. (080) 3310139 Fax (080) 3310070 E. Mail-a Kumar @ Parlic. nil. in Positions Held :
Nov. 1982-85Secretary, A.B.V.P., Karnataka Nov. 1985-87National Secretary, A.B.V.P. July 1987-March 1988Secretary, B.J.P., Karnataka March 1988-Nov. 1995General Secretary, B.J.P., Karnataka Nov. 1995 onwardsNational Secretary, B.J.P. 1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) 1996-97Member, Standing Committee on Industry Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments :
Published articles on national issues in well-known on socio-political and educational issues; well-known public speaker in Kannada, English, Hindi and Telugu
Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
Reading, writing poetry and travelling Countries Visited :
France, Italy, U.K. and U.S.A.; attended I.P.U. Conference held in Paris in July 1996 as a member of Indian Delegation
Other Information :
Participated in J.P. Movement against Emergency Rule in India, 1975-77; Detained for about 40 days; State Convener (i) Save Assam Movement, Karnataka, 1983; (ii) International Youth Year, 1985 and (iii) R.S.S.-sponsored Drought Relief Committee, Karnataka, 1986; Organiser, State and national level conferences and study camps; Convener for many State and University level agitations; Member, Central Silk Board, 1996, and (iv) Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1996 Election Result :
Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituency Total electorate13,00,498 Total votes polled 7,27,220 Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates: (1) Shri Ananth Kumar (B.J.P.) 2,51,235 (2) Ms. Varalakshmi Gundurao (I.N.C.) 2,29,267 (3) Shri M. Raghupathy (J.D.) 1,81,826 (4) Shri Vatal Nagraj (K.C.V.P.) 28,989