Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name: Shri Abdul Gafoor Date of Birth: 9 February 1929 Place of Birth: Ambet in Distt. Raigad (Maharashtra) Marital Status: Married on 17 May 1959 Spouse's Name: Smt. Nargis Antulay Children: One son and three daughters Educational Qualifications :
B.A. (Hons.), Bar-at-Law. Educated at Bombay University, Bombay and Lincolns Inn, London Profession :
Lawyer, Political and Social Worker, Writer Permanent Address :
Vill. Ambet, Distt. Raigad (Maharashtra) Tels. (02149) 23027, 23030 Positions Held :
1960-62Chief, Youth Congress, Maharashtra 1962President, D.C.C., Maharashtra 1962-69General Secretary, P.C.C., Maharashtra (for seven years) 1962-76 and 1980-89Member, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Chairman, Committee on Non-official Bills and Resolutions, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly 1967Chairman, Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Oct. 1969-Feb. 1976Chairman, Estimates Committee, Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Minister of State, Law and Judiciary, Ports and Fisheries etc., Maharashtra Elevated to Cabinet rank Minister of Law & Judiciary, Buildings, Communication and Housing, Maharashtra 1976Elected to Rajya Sabha June 1980-Jan. 1982Chief Minister, Maharashtra 1989Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) 1991Re-elected to the Lok Sabha (Tenth) 1991-93Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings 1993-94Member, Standing Committee, Ministry of Railways 1993-95Chairman, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Facilities and Remuneration to members of Parliament June 1995-May 1996Union Cabinet Minister, Health and Family Welfare (also held additional charge of Water Resources during Feb-May 1996) 1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the third time successively Books Published: "Parliamentary Privilege" (compilation of articles) "Mahajan Report Uncovered" ,"Appointment of a Chief Justice" "Democracy Parliamentary or Presidential?" (compilation of speeches and interviews)
Countries Visited :
Iraq, Kuwait, Syria, U.K. and U.S.S.R.
Election Result :
Kulaba Lok Sabha constituency Total electorate10,85,702 Total votes polled6,39,816 Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates : (1) Shri Abdul Rehman Antulay (I.N.C.)2,13,187 (2) Shri Tare Anant Waman (S.S.)2,09,180 (3) Shri Datta Patil (P.W.P.I.)1,84,664 (4) Shri Bhai Datta Patil (Ind.)4,210