Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name: Late Shri Kanailal Acharia Date of Birth: 11 July 1942 Place of Birth: Bero in Distt. Purulia (West Bengal) Marital Status: Married on 25 February 1975 Spouse's Name: Smt. Rajlaxmi Acharia Children: One son and two daughters Educational Qualifications :
M.A., B.T. Educated at Ranchi University, Ranchi (Bihar) and Calcutta University, Calcutta (West Bengal) Profession :
Political Worker and Trade Unionist Permanent Address :
Vill. Kantaraguni, P.O. Adra, Distt. Purulia (West Bengal) Tel. (03251) 44262 Fax. (03252) 22360 Positions Held :
1980Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) 1981Member, Secretariat, C.P.I. (M), Distt. Committee, Purulia 1984Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Eighth) 1985 onwardsMember, C.P.I. (M), State Committee, West Bengal 1985-89Member, Railway Convention Committee 1986-89Member, Joint Select Committee on Railways Bill 1989Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) for the third time 1990 onwardsMember, Working Committee, C.I.T.U., West Bengal Member, General Council, All India C.I.T.U. 1990-91Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings Member, House Committee Member, General Purposes Committee 1990-96Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways 1991Elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) 1993-95Member, Committee on Public Undertakings 1993-96Member, Standing Committee on Railways Chairman, Committee on Government Assurances 1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the fifth time Sept.1996 onwardsChairman, Standing Committee on Railways Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
Reading Countries Visited :
Mongolia, North Korea and U.S.S.R.; Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegations to Mongolia, 1985 and U.K., 1990; participated in International Conference on Peace and Solidarity at Pyongyang, North Korea Other Information :
Member, Working Committee, All Bengal Kooli Association Election Result :
Bankura Lok Sabha constituency Total electorate9,94,144 Total votes polled7,74,916 Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates: (1) Shri Basudeb Acharia [C.P.I.(M)]4,20,402 (2) Shri Gouri Sankar Dey (I.N.C.)1,91,415 (3) Shri Bilam Murmu (J.M.M.) 59,372 (4) Shri Gunamoy Chattopadhyay (B.J.P.) 40,213